my first crack at making tomato sauce

In last week’s blog, I mentioned that I was about to attempt to make Heirloom Tomato Sauce. I did, in fact, attempt it, and I have to say: it turned out pretty damn good. I definitely made some mistakes, and I need to tweak the recipe for next time. I used this recipe as a base, but I made a lot of revisions, since I only had about three pounds of tomatoes (heirloom and roma, instead of all heirloom – like it calls for). Next time, I’m going to follow whatever recipe I use more accurately, since I only yielded one pint of sauce, and it was just too much work for one meal’s worth. But in all fairness, I’ve never made, or watched anyone make, tomato sauce. I now get why you make and freeze so much. I finally get it, you guys.

I will say it turned out delicious, although there wasn’t a ton. The fiancé didn’t care for it as much because, as he put it, he “doesn’t like tomato sauce to be too chunky”. Way to tell me that after I slave over a stove for three hours, hun. So next time, I’m going to find a recipe that uses a food processor to make the sauce smoother. Luckily for him, I’m an accommodating chef.

tomato saucedoesn’t this look great? it was. anyone who says differently is a fool.

Ingredients (altered from original recipe):

3lbs heirloom and roma tomatoes, washed
1 teaspoon dried thyme
8-10 small cloves garlic, peeled
1 large yellow onion, chopped
3/4 cup white wine
olive oil
2 stalks fresh basil
salt and pepper to taste

For instructions, visit: Mountain Mama Cooks Recipe – I’m loving her recipes, and her canning tips. As someone who is eager to get into canning, I’m definitely plan to use her blog as a resource for other recipes.

Anyone know another sauce recipes that I should take a crack at?

Leave a Reply

